Review: The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough

Having read Colleen McCullough’s historical romance, The Thorn Birds, years back, and having been a fan of the TV series, I decided to reread the 692 page novel to see why I had enjoyed it then. I was reintroduced to the great Australian countryside, to the intensity of sheep farming, to the isolation and hardship of back country living. The description of Australia’s vegetation and animal life was vivid and educational. The historical aspect dealing with the Aussie participation in the wars was also well detailed.What I found lacking,though, was my bonding to the characters. The plot was certainly well crafted with family secrets, betrayals, long-distance romances and timely deaths and births, but I had a hard time getting under the characters’ skin. They all mellow after a while and become more likeable, but now I know why I didn’t remember what I had liked about it–the characters aren’t immortalized for me. A great achievement, and certainly an Australian classic.

 

3412

About Murielle Cyr

Writer, organic gardener, soapmaker, listener.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough

  1. milliethom says:

    I also read this book and watched the TV series years ago and, after reading your review. a re-read now might be a good idea. Thank you for reminding me of it. I’ve only read one other book by Colleen McCullough, and that was ‘Caesar’, which I really liked.

Leave a Reply

