Review: Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks

Geraldine Brooks historical novel, Caleb’s Crossing, tells the story of Calvinist pioneers who  came to settle Martha’s Vineyard in the latter part of the 1600 century. Pristine land was acquired through unfair negotiations with the native people who had no idea of the white man’s concept of ownership. Then came the imposition of their Puritan views and religion which eventually led to the genocide of the  Wampanoag tribe. It is also the story of Bethia Mayfield, the Calvinist minister’s daughter, who must fight to satisfy her quest for knowledge—education for women being taboo in the Puritan scheme of things. She befriends Caleb, the chieftain’s son,because he is native, is considered undeserving of education. But the English back in the old country want to assert their Judeo-Christian compassion by helping to fund the schooling of Indian children. Caleb’s brilliance becomes apparent and he is chosen to cross the river to the mainland to further his learning. He quickly outshines the non-native students in all subjects, but by doing so he must forsake his own native religion. There is also a price  to be paid to cross over to the other side?

A fascinating read except for the abrupt ending where fifty years of Bethia’s life are told in just a few pages. Quite disappointing when her earlier life was told in such detail.

9684523

2 Replies to “Review: Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks”

    1. Thanks for the comments, Olga. I plan to try another shot at reading one of her books. And thanks for even reading my reviews. I’ve been trying to transfer reviews from another blog I have. I think I’ll just keep WordPress, it’s so more user-friendly. I read a lot, so reviewing helps me record what books I’ve already enjoyed. I don’t bother reviewing a book I can’t read to the end. Reviewing also helps me figure out what doesn’t work for me as a reader, and hopefully not repeat in my writing. A grand day to you.

Leave a comment