Picture book cover

I’m hovering over the potential cover for my next project, TURTLE WISH, a picture book about a hatchling trying to find its family. The universal need to belong and the importance of having a family are some of the issues explored in the story. It is through different shattering encounters with strangers that the hatchling  finds its rightful place.

turtle wish cover 2

COVER A

turtle cover

COVER B

I’d love your feedback on which of these two I should choose. I’m a Libra who can never make up her mind.

About Murielle Cyr

Writer, organic gardener, soapmaker, listener.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Picture book cover

  1. I prefer the bottom one — the sea/ocean just looks happier to me when it’s a lighter colour 🙂

  2. MishaBurnett says:

    I like the colors on the second cover better. I don’t care for the font, though–even on children’s books I think a cover should look more formal. But that’s just me, I may be old fashioned.

  3. Hi Murielle I think I have found a new blog to follow, I like the top one, not sure about the font, needs to be stronger. Can you make your Turtle larger, so we can see the hero of the story? Enjoyed reading your about page hope to read more from you soon.

  4. GINETTE POIRIER says:

    The B. Lighter background makes the turtle stand out, your name also as well as the seaweed and the fish. Maybe à bigger turtle. For the title, another color maybe for the background. Try à color already in the bottom figures.

    Xxx

    G

    Envoyé de mon iPad

  5. Hi there, I like the top cover with colours.. but I agree with another about the Turtle being larger if He is the subject of your story! Good luck with your publication 🙂

    • Thanks Sue. All these comments will influence my decision. I’m not graphic-savvy, so this is all good. I’m learning from my blog friends. Be well, and thank you for your encouragement.

  6. Prefer the lighter background personally.

  7. ellamedler says:

    I prefer the lighter blue (cover B) – it seems a warmer colour, friendlier. I also think you should make the turtle a bit bigger, or if that isn’t possible, make the things he’s hiding under bigger – a pile of shells, rocks, whatever. Not sure how to explain it, but the cover seems to come in flat layers. It could do with a little something to add texture, and the turtle seems the most appropriate corner to work on. Nice to meet you, by the way! 🙂

    • Thanks for coming by and leaving your comments. I’m working on the the size of the turtle, so I’m glad you pointed that out. I’ll be going over to your blog to see what you’re uo to. Be well.

  8. bbanublog says:

    its looks a very interesting project ; i wish you all the best and success for this book :))

  9. machineslife says:

    Both covers are a good start. I would go with Cover A because the background color is more serene and it doesn’t hurt the eyes. There’s too much space between the fishes and the turtle. The block of color at the top isn’t needed. The font needs to be more playful and the turtle needs to be the focus of the cover. Maybe something like this –> http://s51.photobucket.com/user/nikenumber33/media/turtlewish_muriellecyr.jpg.html

Leave a Reply

