DOG BITES

P1020934

With all the baking I did for the Holidays my dogs didn’t profit from all the treats—not while I was looking, in any case. So I decided to bake them some cookies. As you can tell from the picture below, they waited patiently till they came out of the oven. They must’ve known it was for them when they saw me open two cans of sardines.

The recipe is pretty easy and I use only one mixing bowl.

DOG BITES

1 can of sardines (plain is probably better)

½ cup of water

¼ cup canola oil (any oil would do)

2 cups flour

½ cup oatmeal

Mash sardines with a fork (oil and all). Add all the other ingredients and mix until most of the flour is incorporated. Then you knead till it forms a ball. Roll it about ¼ inch thick and cut in any shape you want. Place on cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees F till they start to brown (about 30 minutes depending on your oven).

I can’t say ENJOY, but the doggies jumped hoops when I offered them.

P1020933

ebooks

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00C4L464O

About Murielle Cyr

Writer, organic gardener, soapmaker, listener.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to DOG BITES

  1. What cute babies you have. I have two as well. I got a nice chuckle out of this. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Your dogs are adorable! and good for you for posting your recipe of spoilage 😉

  3. GINETTE POIRIER says:

    Don’t they look yummy! G

    Ginette Poirier g.poirier2@live.com 450-928-7241 514-212-6079

    Date: Fri, 11 Jan 2013 17:43:33 +0000 To: g.poirier2@live.com

  4. Reblogged this on Sunshine Factor and commented:
    This sounds like a really cool and healthy treat for your canine friends. Wish I had a dog to bake them for! 🙂

  5. Hi,
    I just found your blog as a result of you finding mine! I love this “new to me” blogging world! It just keeps getting better 🙂

    Your dogs are absolutely beautiful! They are obviously aware from this photo that something very tasty is on its way! I’m going to get my daughter to help me make these. It frustrates me that I can no longer do things like this on my own but at least I have one working hand so we will muddle through!

    Christine

    • Blogging allows you to visit so many interesting people all over the world. I’ll pass on your compliments to my dogs. The recipe is super easy, just remember to brown them well, it makes for a longer crunch for them. Reminds me, I’ll have to pick up more sardines. Glad I found you. Be well.

  6. Give those beautiful dogs a big hug from me – they are sooooo lovely.

  7. That looks and sounds yummy. Max & Bella (the fury Mahurins) are drooling and nose nudging me to get my lack of kitchen skills act together and do for them. Very cute, “dog bites” and of course I had to peek, being that I worked in an ER for many years and saw dog bites and am a dog lover, lol. This is a very pleasant surprise. Paulette Mahurin

Leave a Reply

